Skip to main content

Honors and Awards

Indiana University School of Medicine believes that honoring outstanding teaching, research and service is an important part of the school’s culture. The following awards recognize the work of faculty members across the entire school, with specific awards offered for certain campuses. In addition, IU School of Medicine honors faculty with endowed chairs, lectureships, professorships and teaching awards from Indiana University Trustees.

Nominate Faculty

To nominate a deserving faculty member for an award, find requirements and submission details for the various programs.


School-Wide Honors

  • Exemplar of Professionalism Honor Roll

    The Exemplar of Professionalism Honor Roll recognizes those at the school who embody the core values of excellence, respect, integrity, diversity and cooperation. Celebrating positive role models who uphold the IU School of Medicine Honor Code in their daily interactions, the Exemplar designation is designed to recognize faculty, residents, fellows, students and staff members. Nominations are temporarily suspended to align the process and criteria with the newly revised Honor Code.

Faculty Awards

  • Distinguished Professorships and Teaching Award
    Indiana University recognizes excellence by awarding distinguished professorships, teaching awards and outstanding service contributions through the Office of University Ceremonies. For details, visit the Office of University Ceremonies.
  • Excellence in Faculty Mentoring Award
    For the IU School of Medicine community, mentoring is an essential factor in sustaining the vitality, development and retention of both faculty and students. The Excellence in Faculty Mentoring Award recognizes the exceptional mentoring practices of one clinician and one basic scientist each year.
  • Indianapolis-Campus Faculty Awards
    IU School of Medicine faculty members at the Indianapolis campus are eligible for a variety of awards in teaching, civic engagement, diversity, mentoring and research conferred by IUPUI. For more information, visit the IUPUI Office of Faculty Appointments and Advancement.
  • Inspirational Educator Award
    This award honors faculty who inspire and motivate learners to work hard and achieve more than they ever thought possible. The prestigious Inspirational Educator Award acknowledges the time and dedication put forth by faculty in order to be effective educators.
  • Mark Brothers Award
    Created by Dr. and Mrs. Guey C. Mark, the Mark Brothers Lectureship recognizes nationally and internationally renowned medical scientists of Asian descent. This lectureship was established in 1997 in honor of Dr. Mark’s brothers, who immigrated from Canton and settled in South Bend, Indiana, and started a successful business.
  • Outstanding Community Engagement Award
    The Faculty Community Relations Committee (FCRC) Award for Outstanding Community Engagement was established to recognize and encourage exceptional community engagement by IU School of Medicine faculty in activities related to volunteerism, community based learning or research, outreach, partnership and curricular engagement.
  • Scholar Educator Award
    The Scholar Educator Award recognizes faculty who go above and beyond standard teaching practices and take a scholarly approach to educating learners.
  • Steven C Beering Award for Advancement of Biomedical Science
    Given out annually since 1984, the Steven C. Beering Award for Advancement of Biomedical Science honors an internationally recognized researcher for outstanding contributions to the advancement of biomedical or clinical science.
  • Trustees Teaching Awards
    Each year, the IU Board of Trustees recognizes excellence in teaching through the Trustees’ Teaching Awards. Recipients of this award receive a $2500 bonus, memorial plaque and are recognized at the IU School of Medicine commencement. Approximately 48 IU School of Medicine faculty receive this award each year.