Skip to main content
two providers smile warmly as they assess a patient


Excellence in research, education and clinical care

Under the leadership of Professor and Chair Laurie Gutmann, MD, the IU School of Medicine Department of Neurology’s core mission is to advance neurological health in Indiana and beyond through innovation and excellence in education, research and patient care.

The department is located in the IU Health Neuroscience Center, a state-of-the-art outpatient center that unites all the specialties that involve nervous system disorders – Neurology, Neurosurgery, Psychiatry, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Neuropsychology and Neuroradiology. It is also home of the main outpatient Neurophysiology (EEG, EMG and Evoked Potentials) laboratory at IU Health. The adjoining IU Neurosciences Research building enables clinicians, basic scientists and physician scientists to collaborate in an environment that is rarely achieved in academic medicine. This department has a rich tradition in academic neurology with a national reputation in neurological education and neuroscience research.


Accomplished physician educators in the Department of Neurology are deeply committed to training medical students, residents, fellows and other physicians in this complex field of medicine. The residency and fellowship programs provide exceptional training for the nation's future neurologists.
Learn More


Through a long tradition of research in cerebrovascular disease and the collaborative work of multidisciplinary subspecialty programs, investigators in the Department of Neurology have made great strides in transforming patient lives through improved prevention and treatment for neurological issues.
Learn More
a provider helps an elderly patient walk down the hallway using a walker

Clinical Care

The Department of Neurology operates within the IU Health Neuroscience Center, a state-of-the-art collaborative facility. Our clinical faculty, residents and fellows work together to provide exceptional patient care.
Learn More

Upcoming Events

12 Apr

Apr 12 5:00pm

Department of Neurological Surgery: 2nd Annual Kalsbeck Lecture
Save the Date

John R. Kestle, MD, has been named the invited guest lecturer for the 2nd Annual Kalsbeck Lectureship.

IU Health Neuroscience Center/Goodman Hall

13 Neurology Subspecialty Areas
46 Full-Time Clinical Faculty
5 Affiliated Teaching Hospitals in Indianapolis

Faculty Spotlight

7297-McDonald, Brenna

Brenna C. McDonald, PsyD

Professor of Radiology & Imaging Sciences

Read Bio

10634-Fleck, James

James D. Fleck, MD

Assistant Professor of Clinical Neurology

Read Bio