Skip to main content

REC Scholar Program

The Indiana Alzheimer's Disease Research Center's Research and Education Component (REC) is soliciting nominations for the REC Scholar Program from members of the IADRC Executive Committee. The REC Scholar Program is primarily designed for early-stage investigators planning to pursue competitive, extramurally funded research on Alzheimer’s disease or related dementias (ADRD). Research pertinent to ADRD at any level is welcome including mechanistic, translational, cognitive aging and computational neuroscience. Novel interventions for patients, caregivers and at-risk populations and medical informatics and health services studies of ADRD are all relevant. These examples are not meant to be exclusive.


Early-stage faculty investigators eligible to submit grant applications who are investigating AD/ADRD topics are eligible for the REC Scholar Program. Additionally, members of the IADRC Executive Committee are eligible to submit nominations or qualified individuals may self-nominate directly to the REC Scholar Program.

Selection Criteria

Upon receipt and review of nominations, eligible nominees will be invited to submit overview of their proposed research, briefly outlining the following:

  • Specific Aims
  • Significance
  • Innovation
  • Approach
  • Relevance to Indiana ADRC mission

All are within the two-page limit, any literature cited may be appended. The proposed research plan plus a NIH-style Biosketch of the candidate will be reviewed by a committee for final selection.


Please send the nomination to the Director of Administration, Sarah Van Heiden ( by 5pm on Friday, December 15. All applications will be due to Sarah Van Heiden by 5pm on Friday, January 5. Selections will be announced in January.  

Learn more


Each REC Scholar will be awarded $10,000 to be used toward research, conference attendance and publication costs. In addition, the Scholar will be invited to participate in a grant writing workshop and offered assistance for preparing applications for R-series or K-series grants. Major foundation grants are also encouraged (e.g., Alzheimer’s Association). Finally, the Scholar would be mentored by a committee, comprising mentee’s primary mentor, REC faculty and broader IADRC faculty. The REC Scholar Program will fund up to three nominees.

2024 REC scholars
2023 rec scholars

Veronica Derricks, PhD

Salman Shahid, ME, PhD

Jenya Chumin, PhD

Drew Pickett, PhD

2022 REC Scholars

Kelly Nudelman, PhD

Adrian Oblak, PhD

Meichen Yu, PhD

Angelina Polsinelli, PhD

Miriam Rodriguez, PhD

Naazneen Khan, PhD

Sunu Mathew, MBBS