Medical School Accreditation

In the United States, the accreditation status of programs leading to the MD degree is determined solely by the Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME). In cooperation with the Committee on Accreditation of Canadian Medical Schools (CACMS), the LCME also accredits MD programs in Canada. LCME accreditation is a voluntary, peer-review process of quality assurance. Jointly funded by the Association of American Medical Colleges and the American Medical Association, the LCME reviews the 135 US and 17 Canadian medical schools it accredits every eight years.

Reaccreditation Update

IU School of Medicine’s reaccreditation site visit by the survey team representing the Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME) concluded April 23, 2017. The school received full reaccreditation for the next eight years — through 2024-25.

Note from Dean Hess

Accreditation seeks to answer three key questions:

  1. Has the medical education program clearly established its mission and institutional learning objectives?
  2. Are the medical education program’s curriculum and resources organized to meet its mission and objectives?
  3. What is the evidence that the medical education program is currently achieving its mission and objectives and is likely to continue to meet them in the future?

Indiana University School of Medicine first received LCME accreditation during World War II. To become and stay accredited, medical school education programs must meet the national standards described in the document, Functions and Structure of a Medical School. In 2017, the LCME recognized IU School of Medicine with full-reaccreditation status through 2024-2025.

Spirit of Medicine Blog